European Blitz and Rapid Chess Championship 2017

The Epic Games Store exclusives regiment arrived - Creative Assembly and SEGA announced that Total War Saga: Troy will be available on August 13 at EGS. The page in the Epic service is already running. According to the game portal, during the first 24 hours after the release, the strategy can be picked up for free. After the end of the promotion, the gift will remain yours. If you want to wait for the release on Steam, then be patient - exclusivity will last until August 2021. Most likely, this distribution will operate on other sites - Epic Games pays for the freebie festival. So that fans of the series do not react to the news too painfully, SEGA and Creative Assembly said a few words in their defense on the site of Total War: Companies do not plan to make the following Total War exclusives: so far, Troy is the first and only experiment. Opinions inside the studio about whether to accept the Epic proposal varied, but in the end the authors agreed for two reasons: Developers want to invest additional funds in future Total War, so Epic’s commercial offer came in handy. Distributing the game on release is a great gift to the community for the 20th anniversary of Total War. Authors do not want to be tied to Steam alone. The agreement with Epic is a good reason to come to the new platform and see what comes of it. CA emphasizes - the exclusivity deal opens up many new opportunities for the company. You, as players, will definitely see the positive consequences of this step. Recall Troy tells about the famous Trojan War. As usual, the gameplay is divided into two main layers: one - global strategic, the other - tactical in real time. The game features legendary heroes - Achilles, Hector and others.

The competiton was held in Katowice (Poland) from 16th to 17th of December 2017.

Official website

European Blitz and Rapid Chess Championship 2017

In blitz competition 1091 players from 40 countries were participating. Among them 66 GM, 4 WGM and 66 IMs.

The tournament was won by Segei Zhigalko from Belarus, 2nd was Luke McShane from England and 3rd Peter Michalik from Chech Republic.

Blitz - results

In rapid competition 1181 players from 41 countries were participating. 

The tournament was surprisingly won by IM Vavulin Maxsim from Russia, 2nd was local hero Jan - Krysztof Duda and 3rd Ponkratov Pavel from Russia.

Rapid - results

In both competitons GM Adrian Mikhalchishin played fantastic chess and won among Seniors - great achievement!


Check out all articles